homeabout usthe teamannual reunioncommittee meetingstestimonialslinkscontact us


The Possum Trophy


The Possums Trophy is a perpetual award presented after the annual fishing excursion to Torrumbarry Weir.

It is awarded to the participant that provides some action of note. It can be anything between outstanding and ridiculous. [A Brownlow or a Download performance]

Only those in attendance are privy to the reason for the award. 

The Possums Trophy is named in memory of Brother Paul Bourke who was principal of the school in the 1950 s and was at the school for  a total of seven[7] years. After leaving Kyneton he maintained a close link and was always at our annual reunion until his death.

In The Possum Nest


2002Brian Fleming

2002Roly Sandilands

2004Arthur Clarke

2005Mick Halley

2006Ray Fleming

2007P H Law [Peter]

2008Jack Ramsdale

2009Paul Healey and Gerry Lavery

2010Laurie [Frizz] Marshall

2011Leo Law

2012Kevin Willey

2013Barry Grose

2014Len Young and Brian Fleming [BPF 2nd time] 

2015Dave Tyquin

2016 Arthur Clarke for second time

2017 Kevin Mustard



On Monday 18 May 2015 a number of Committee members attended the Sundblom home. Old Boys from far afield joined the Kyneton contingent, and Sunny’s wife Jarleth and their family gathered for the surprise.


So we add Kevin [Sunny] Sundblom to our list of Life Members [see The Team at bottom of page]




At the 2014 annual general meeting Cath Ramsdale mother of a stalwart and now President Jack was made an Honorary Life Member. The award was to acknowledge her ongoing hosting of a monthly meeting and the award winning  sponge cakes always provided.

Cura Pastoralis

Brother Tom Maher attended his last meeting on 14 December 2011 as he had a transfer to Queensland.

Brother Tom was our pastoral adviser for a quarter of a century and  regularly made the trip from Bendigo to attend meetings. His expansive and interesting address has always been a highlight of the meetings.

Brother’s new address from late January 2012 will be: -





Two Life Members Jack Willmott and Jack Ramsdale were installed at the 2008 AGM. The award was made in recognition of these members unfailing dedication to the association and its undertakings.

At the 2009 AGM a posthumous Life Membership was awarded to Kevin Tresidder and accepted by Dianne and family.

Other Life Members who have served on past management committees or are still involved are: -

John Biddlestone [Deceased], Laurie McPherson [Deceased], Vin Reardon [Deceased], Barry Rowe [Deceased], Leon Fallon, Brian Fleming, Gerry Lavery, Kevin Law, Peter Law, Laurie Marshall and Leo Ramsdale OAM


Jack Willmott was also honoured by the RSL when he was awarded the Meritorious Service Medal during the RSL State Conference. Jack is one of only seven recipients of this prestigious award. The committee of the Kyneton Sub-branch of the RSL recommended Jack for his untiring work to enhance the services offered to returned servicemen. Jack joined in 1946 and has served on the committee since except for a short break of seven years until 2005 when he again joined.

More details were carried in the Midland Express of July 22nd 2008 at page 16.

We also direct your attention to other pages of this site Deceased Old Boys and The Men who Shaped Our Lives

the team
contact a team member
News items
honour roll
homeabout usthe teamannual reunioncommittee meetingstestimonialslinkscontact us


Website by Magicdust